Quick links:
 Latest Team Rankings
 Free Rivals Alerts
 Member Services
ShopMobileRadio RSSRivals.com Yahoo! Sports

December 4, 2012

Duke is ACC coaches Rookie of Year

University of Miami freshman Duke Johnson was named both the ACC Offensive and Overall Rookie of the Year by the league's 12 head coaches, announced Wednesday by the conference office.

For the first time under the auspices of the ACC, the league's 12 head coaches voted for an All-ACC football team, as well as Players of the Year, Rookies of the Year and a Coach of the Year award. Coaches were not allowed to vote for their own players; first-team selections were worth two points and second-team one point.

Johnson, who was named the ACC Offensive and Overall Rookie of the Year by the ACSMA last week, set a single-game ACC freshman standard with 368 all-purpose yards Nov. 10 at Virginia while also placing third in the league with 947 rushing yards and a 78.9 yards-per-game average.

Johnson is the first Hurricane to win the rookie award following a breakout season in which he broke Clinton Portis' 13-year-old school rushing record for freshmen. In 2008, linebacker Sean Spence was named the ACC Defensive Rookie of the Year.

In addition to his rookie honors, Johnson was a second-team All-ACC selection at running back and earned honorable mention as a specialist.

Six other Hurricanes earned All-ACC honorable mention status from the league's coaches. Junior RT Seantrel Henderson, junior RG Brandon Linder and redshirt sophomore C Shane McDermott received honorable mention on offense, while sophomore DE Anthony Chickillo, sophomore LB Denzel Perryman and senior S Vaughn Telemaque earned honorable mention on defense.

Johnson picked up eight votes in both the Overall and Offensive Rookie of the Year voting, finishing five ahead of Maryland WR Stefon Diggs. Redshirt freshman LB Eddie Johnson finished second in the Defensive Rookie of the Year voting with five votes and third in Overall Rookie of the Year voting with one vote.

Head coach Al Golden tied for third in Coach of the Year voting, receiving one vote along with NC State's Tom O'Brien and Georgia Tech's Paul Johnson.



Antrel Rolle, DB (first team)

Chris Myers, T (second team)

Roscoe Parrish, WR (second team)

Frank Gore, RB (second team)

Brock Berlin, QB (second team)


Devin Hester, SP (first team)

Eric Winston, T (first team)

Tyrone Moss, RB (first team)

Brandon Meriweather, DB (second team)


Calais Campbell, DE (first team)

Greg Olsen, TE (first team)


Kenny Phillips, DB (first team)

Derrick Morse, G (second team)


Matt Bosher, PK (second team)

Colin McCarthy, LB (second team)

Darryl Sharpton, LB (second team)


Matt Bosher, PK (first team)

Jason Fox, T (first team)


Brandon Washington, G (first team)

Leonard Hankerson, WR (first team)

Matt Bosher, P (first team)

Orlando Franklin, T (second team)

Allen Bailey, DL (second team)

Brandon Harris, DB (second team)

Ray-Ray Armstrong, FS (second team)

Sean Spence, OLB (second team)

Damien Berry, RB (second team)


Sean Spence, LB (first team)

Tyler Horn, C (second team)

Lamar Miller, RB (second team)


Duke Johnson, RB (second team) - media, coaches

Duke Johnson, SP (second team) - media

A video or other embedded content has been hidden. Click here to view it.

Miami NEWS


Latest Headlines:


Rivals.com is your source for: College Football | Football Recruiting | College Basketball | Basketball Recruiting | College Baseball | High School | College Merchandise
Site-specific editorial/photos CaneSport.com. All rights reserved. This website is an officially and independently operated source of news and information not affiliated with any school or team.
About | Advertise with Us | Contact | Privacy Policy | About our Ads | Terms of Service | Copyright/IP policy | Yahoo! Sports - NBC Sports Network

Statistical information 2014 STATS LLC All Rights Reserved.