football Edit

Surprise MVP Picks At Team Awards

The University of Miami football program held its annual awards banquet Sunday night at the Gusman Concert Hall on UM's campus. Award winners were announced for the 2009 season.
In somewhat of a surprise, offensive lineman Jason Fox and linebacker Daryl Sharpton shared the Jack Harding Most Valuable Player award.
Here is a list of this year's award winners:
Scout Team Player of the Year - Offense - Spencer Whipple
Scout Team Player of the Year - Defensive - Cory Nelms
Hard Hitter Award - Darryl Sharpton
Special Teams Player of Year - Matt Bosher
Strength Training Athlete of the Year - Allen Bailey
Nick Chickillo Most Improved Player - Sam Shields (D) and Matt Pipho (O)
Walt Kichefski Hurricane Award - Commitment, Consistency, Work Ethic - A.J. Trump
Albert Bentley Most Valuable Walk-On Award - Chris Ivory
U Miami Sports Hall of Fame Unsung Hero Award - Tervaris Johnson
Mariutto Family Scholarship Award for Academic Excellence - Jake Byrne
Plumer Award for Leadership, Motivation and Spirit - Randy Phillips
Melching Leadership Award - Javarris James (O) and Joe Joseph (D)
Jack Harding (MVP) - Jason Fox (O) and Darryl Sharpton (D)
Community Service Man of the Year Award - Ryan Hill and Chavez Grant
Newcomer of the Year Award - Mike James
Training Room Comeback Player of the Year - Dedrick Epps (O) and Colin McCarthy (D)
Hurricane Media "Good Guy" Award - Jacory Harris (O) and Randy Phillips (D)